• Home
  • /
  • What food you need to stay away from

What food you need to stay away from

You need to avoid any food that contains the protein from wheat, rye, or barley. Here is a list of these foods:

  • Atta (chapatti flour)
  • Barley (flakes, flour, pearl)
  • Beer, ale, lager
  • Breading and bread stuffing
  • Brewers yeast
  • Bulgur
  • Communion wafers
  • Couscous
  • Croutons
  • Dinkel (also known as spelt) *
  • Durum *
  • Einkorn *
  • Emmer *
  • Farina
  • Farro or Faro (also known as spelt) *
  • Fu **
  • Graham flour
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Kamut *
  • Malt, malt extract, malt syrup and malt flavouring
  • Malt vinegar
  • Malted milk
  • Matzoh, matzoh meal
  • Modified wheat starch
  • Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour and whole oats ***
  • Pastas
  • Rye bread and flour
  • Seitan ****
  • Semolina
  • Spelt (also known as farro or faro, dinkel) *
  • Triticale
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat flour
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat starch

* These are all types of wheat

** Fu is a dried gluten product derived from wheat that is sold as thin sheets or thick round cakes. Used as a protein supplement in Asian dishes such as soups and vegetables.

*** Oats are contaminated with wheat and barley, unless they are specially grown, harvested and processed.More information.

**** Seitan is a meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in many vegetarian dishes; sometimes called “wheat meat”.

 

Here are more questionable items

Source: Adapted with permission from Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide 2008 by Shelley Case, Dietitian.

Leave Your Comment Here